The Animal Protection League: Protecting and Rescuing our Four-Legged Friends

As I’m sure many of you know, animal rescue is a cause that is near and dear to my heart.  Not too long ago I worked as a co-director of the aplimageAnimal Protection League and am still amazed at all of the big strides they have made with animal rescue in our community.  Not only has the director, Maleah Stringer, implemented the FIDO and the 9 Lives programs which partner prisoners with adoptable animals but she has helped push ordinances through that punishes those who abuse our four legged friends.  Unfortunately, there is still much to be done in our community to raise awareness and find forever homes for our unwanted, abused, neglected, and forgotten animals.  It amazes me still every time I walk into the doors of the shelter just how many dogs and cats have been surrendered or abandoned.  Almost all of these animals would make wonderful family pets if only given the chance.

In an attempt to do my part to raise money and awareness of the ongoing animal over-population I have partnered up with the APL.  For every tootieFacebook “like” from now until the end of the year I will donate $1.00 to the APL (up to $500).  This is just a small way in which I can help and encourage everyone to find ways to donate their time, money, or expertise to this worthwhile cause! I also encourage you to visit their website to not only check out the adoptable pets but also see the different programs and fundraisers that they currently have in place!

Leave a Reply

